Share it

Upsc (Union Public Service commission) is India’s central agency which conduct exams like Civil Service Exam (CSE) to recruit candidates into top government services like IAS, IPS, IFS etc.

UPSC civil service exam (CSE) consist of 3 stages. The stages are:

  1. Priliminary Exams (objective)
  2. Main Exam (written)
  3. Interview (personality Test)

The exam window extends over a year ( from June moth lof a year to June month next year when the results are annouced).

Pattern of Civil Service Exam

prelims :- The Civil Service preliminary exam comprises of two compulsory paper of 200 marks each (General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II) The question will be of multiple-choice, objective type. The marks of prelims will not be counted for final rank, but just for qualification for the main exam.

Main:- The written examination (main) will consist of the 9 papers, but only 7 papers will be counted for final merit ranking. For the rest two papers, the candidate should secure minimum marks prescribed by the commission each year.

Interview :- The candidate will be interviewed by the Board who will have before them a record of his/her career. He/She will be asked question on matters of general interest.

A candidate’s rank in Civil Service Exam depends only on the mark scored in main and interview. The main exam has 1750 markswhile interview has 275 marks.

Share it